Ortofon Concorde Elite cartridge

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by intoaudio, Jan 26, 2023.

1. intoaudio

intoaudio Active Member Thread Starter

Hi group,
    Just bought one for my Technics SL1200GR. Ortofon says not to use solvents when you clean the stylus.
    I have been using the Mofi stylus cleaner, which has a solvent you spread on the brush and then clean the stylus.

What non-solvent options have you used with success? I've never done that before and am interested in your feedback. Much appreciated.

Boltman92124 likes this.
  2. arem

arem Forum Resident

I use the round Mofi brush dry for most cleaning on my Concorde. If the stylus seems to need extra attention I have a Moongel pad that I use the same way you would use the Onzow Zerodust. I’ve never needed anything else. If your records are decently clean you shouldn’t either.

3. Boltman92124

Boltman92124 Go Padres!!

How do you like the Elite so far? I got a Concorde Club Mk2 last month and it has exceeded my expectations! I don't want to put the AT carts back on at all! It is smooth and powerful after some break in time. Just great with rock and modern jazz fusion. I could fit the Elite stylus on it if desired too. I'm becoming a Concorde convert!!

4. Boltman92124

Boltman92124 Go Padres!!

PS- Ortofon says not to use liquid cleaners on their styli. I would take them at their word.

5. Agitater

Agitater Forum Resident

Ortofon supplies a perfectly good, small, well-made stylus brush with their cartridges. I think that’s the best thing to use.

I suggest avoiding the usage mistake I’ve seen some audiophiles making though - brushing blindly. Use it as only directed in the little instruction blurb, and use a chair or stool or what-have-you to comfortably position yourself to get a direct, non-awkward, non-contorted view of the stylus. A couple of gentle sweeps from back to front and you’re done.