RUSH - EXIT STAGE LEFT uncut restored film... Why not?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by kayley10, Nov 6, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kayley10

kayley10 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I was just internally humming YYZ in my head and once more came upon the frustration of not having footage of Rush playing this and many other tunes from the Moving Pictures tour.

The original cut of Exit Stage Left was severly abridged in comparison to the complete show(s).
    The footage looks like it's been shot on film so if the original reels could be found, we could potentially have a really nice looking HD upgrade as well as the songs that were left out of the original cut.
    I am relatively new to Rush, do any of the more knowledgeable fans know if any such project has ever been attempted or would indeed be possible?

RyanC3082, M321115, Muzyck and 15 others like this.
  2. Dingo

Dingo Forum Resident

RUSH never played in Oz, so any chance to see this film would be great. Bonus is hearing Geddy in full throat during the ‘helium years’.

longdist01, Sean, polchik and 2 others like this.
  3. ponkine

ponkine Senior Member

4. mark winstanley

mark winstanley Certified dinosaur, who likes physical product

I would be totally all for it!
    If well done it would be a jewel in the collection.

RyanC3082, The Cat 3, M321115 and 8 others like this.
  5. aphexj

aphexj Sound mind & body

:waiting:

6. mark renard

mark renard Senior Member

It is even known if they filmed the whole show?

7. ponkine

ponkine Senior Member

I guess the answer is YES

I can't imagine hiring all the film crew just to capture 52 min of footage.
    The concert was taped multitracked in full. So it's pretty obvious to think that it was filmed complete as well

8. mark winstanley

Definitely. Completely illogical to set up a film crew and shoot sections.

Generally you film the whole thing and edit what you want seen/heard

9. indigovic

indigovic (Taylor’s Version)