Spotify will not pay royalties to small artists in 2024?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Rodant Kapoor, Nov 30, 2023.

1. Rodant Kapoor

Rodant Kapoor Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've seen a few videos recently where they claim that Spotify will, in 2024, stop paying small artists that do not earn beyond a certain threshold. I haven't seen this discussed elsewhere except for youtube, and I'm just curious what other people in the industry have to say about it. For myself, I will not subscribe to their service any longer if they go ahead with that.

2. indigovic

indigovic (Taylor’s Version)

3. indigovic

Spotify typically pays between $.003 and $.005 per stream, according to https://labelgrid.com/blog/royalties/spotify-pay-per-stream/, so limiting payment to a minimum of 1000 streams per year therefore translates to a minimum annual payment of $3–5.

I have some background here—my company (among other things) sells digital assets made by others, and many years ago, I helped design the methods and systems we use for that. And one thing I had to contend with is that there is such a thing as “too small to be worthwhile.” In those early days, we paid creators by check, and each check cost some money to process: in addition to the material cost of postage and an envelope, there’s also the cost of the accounts payable person handling the payment, the accountant reconciling the books, and so on. These days, most of the payments are electronic, so the postage and envelope costs are gone, but you still have to pay someone (like PayPal) a fee to deliver that money. It doesn’t add up to a lot, but when you’re talking about small payments, you’re also talking about small revenues, and it’s pretty easy for the act of paying the creator of a minor product to nullify any profit you might make on it. So you’ve got to do something here.