Turntable advice 2000$

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Dahuky, Mar 20, 2023.

1. Dahuky

Dahuky Forum Resident Thread Starter

hi, looking to upgrade my TT.

currently use sony pshx500 -> sugden pa-4 phono -> sugden a21 int-amp -> flacon acoustics ls3\5a gold badge.

mostly listening to vocals\folk\jazz\ country.

been looking about some used and new rega's, since everyone is raving about these, but not sure they what i need.
    would thank for any advice of what to look for or any specific models.
    (i'm a TT noob, and idk what to look for and what makes a difference.)

Echoes Myron likes this.
  2. Dahuky

i see that on other threads the technics 1200gr was recommended.
    how does it compare with the regas?

3. Cyclone Ranger

Cyclone Ranger New old stock

Search function is yo’ friend: :agree:

Rega Planar 6 vs Technics SL1200GR

FuzzyNightmares likes this.
  4. P3ESRXD

P3ESRXD Arnaud, still enjoying...with what I have

@Dahuky
    As new Sugden A21 user, I have in my future target PA-4 phono stage which may be my ultimate phono stage.

To do justice to this PA-4, I'll add Rega P8 (but your budget would be short for this TT at 2,490 Euros no cartridge in France), with Ania 3149 Euros
    (Platine vinyle Rega Planar 8 avec cellule Ania )
    Of course, this would be "not so convenient" TT but if nice sounding is the aim (mine anyway), I know only P8 users satisfaction, and their next TT
    would be only P10 (this one would be my last TT when I can afford it ;) ).

But ultimate TT can not exist:
    Moving on from a rega P10

so your next TT (or whatever component) can be "good enough" for a while, then two options, move on or enjoy what one has.

5. Dahuky

from what i read on that forum on others, i see like 90% of ppl prefer the technics over the reags, so ATM i lean more towards the 1200GR.

i can tell you that the a21 and the pa - 4 is a GREAT combo. although i only used it MM for now.
    by the way, what speakers do you use? p3's?