Turntable suggestions

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ryaneagon, Nov 23, 2022.

1. ryaneagon

ryaneagon Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi All. I'm relatively new in the turntable market. For the past 2 years, I've been using my dad's old Dual 721 turntable fitted with a Grado Black (I think) The turntable itself is pretty worn out and noisy, and I want to get something of my own. I have decent mid-fi Equipment. Onkyo TX-RZ50, and Polk Audio Reserve R700 speakers.
    I've done a good amount of research on a few $300-700 turntables and possibly narrowed it down to the AT-LP50 or the Pro-ject Debut Carbon EVO.
    I haven't heard either but I've heard similar models. Pro-Ject 2Xperience Beatles "White Album" Turntable and an Audio Technica LPW40

I will most likely use the Onkyo Pre-Amp or purchase a separate phono preamp. In all honesty, I preferred the sound of the LPW40, which is crazy! being the Pro-ject cost $1500 (If I'm not mistaken) and the LPW40 $379.
    The Pro-ject sounded muddy, grainy, and very sibilant, maybe it wasn't set up correctly, though.

I'm also looking into the Fluance 83-84, but I'm not a fan of the 2MRed or 2Mblue. Granted, I haven't heard them on my system or spent much time with either.

I wanted to get some opinions for this forum. I'm up for suggestions.

My budget is $400-600

2. mbg

mbg Forum Resident

Don’t have comparative advice but I’ll give you a bump before falling off the first page.

With your budget, the entry level tables from AT, Project and Fluance are probably your best bets.

While others here may have stronger opinions than mine, I feel at that price point it is unlikely there will be a huge difference in TT quality so focusing on the one which comes with your preferred cart/stylus would be my advice.

warp2600, JFCB, goer and 2 others like this.
  3. ryaneagon

Thanks for the info. What about mid-level tables? I Don't mind spending more if It gains a better experience.

4. cdash99

cdash99 Senior Member