Very slight platter wobbling with new turntable, normal or not?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Fekx, Sep 8, 2022.

1. Fekx

Fekx Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello community,

I just got my very first turntable - the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon Evo.
    I noticed, that the platter is very slighty wobbling - I recorded a quick video.

Excuse my ignorance, but since I have zero experience with turntables, I'm just wondering if this is common/normal or not acceptable?

My platter is even, I just used my scale to make it complete even.

[​IMG]

Thanks a lot guys and happy listening!

2. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

Generally TT platters has zero wobble, but your TT wobble is so minor I would not be concerned.

3. Phil Thien

Phil Thien Forum Resident

I'd return it. Get something that doesn't wobble. A $200 used Japanese model won't wobble.

BrentB, Pythonman, richbdd01 and 4 others like this.
  4. chris geary

chris geary Forum Resident

I can barely see it in the video. I would take a look at the cartridge while you are playing a record, does the cartridge track ok?

It is probably a QC issue with the inner platter and the press-fit spindle. You might send it back, but there is no guarantee that the next one won't be the same. If it sounds OK, i wouldn't worry too much.

Jimi Floyd, Fekx and matthewp like this.
  5. Technocentral

Technocentral Forum Resident

I had a Debut Evo, very nice sounding table with the 2m Blue I had on it, I can barely see any movement, off centre records (of which there are many) would have more of a noticable affect on sound quality.

Fekx likes this.
  6. TheVinylAddict

TheVinylAddict Look what I found

You'll of course get different responses, everyone has a different tolerance for things like this - but I always fall back on there are many TT's that don't wobble, and I'd prefer one of those. YMMV.

lazycat57, Big Blue, timind and 2 others like this.
  7. Technocentral