What is Prog Rock?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by James I, Jan 18, 2021.

1. James I

James I Forum Resident Thread Starter

I can perceive shoegaze, folk-rock, rap-rock, trip-hop, hard-rock, grunge and a lot of rock substyles. But never I found a convincent explanation about the sound of progressive. Could it really just be rock?

Last edited: Jan 18, 2021
    joy stinson and changeling69 like this.
  2. Seabass

Seabass Old Git

If it looks like this, it’s prog

[​IMG]

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Here's my definition from an old thread:

crp207, TonyACT, joy stinson and 14 others like this.
  4. BrentB

BrentB Urban Angler

Rule 1. There is no convenient explanation of Prog Rock. It can have short songs, long songs, instrumental songs, lots of vocals and harmonies. There can be elements of folk, rock, classical, jazz, and more. Thematically it can be all over the place.
    Rule 2. See rule 1

5. Evethingandnothing

Evethingandnothing Forum Resident

Guys in capes showing off.

6. James I

James I Forum Resident Thread Starter

To include the whistling of a bird in the opening of a rock song, for example from 1971, would it automatically turn it into a progressive song?

7. Terrapin Station

Terrapin Station Master Guns

Here's a nutshell definition (believe it or not) that gives three main criteria: