What is this?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Brian Cruz, Jul 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian Cruz

Brian Cruz Forum Resident Thread Starter

Realistic SA-10

Link

I have one of these.(This isn't mine. This is the only photo I could find.)

Forgive me, but I have never used an amp before. Would I hook my phono pre-amp to this? Would this make everything sound worse? Is this just a piece of crap? :help:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Joe Nino-Hernes

Joe Nino-Hernes Active Member

Its just a mini integrated amp. Its probably about 2-5 watts per channel. This particular unit has a phono preamp in it.

3. Ed Bishop

Ed Bishop Incredibly, I'm still here

Realistic is a Radio Shack brand name. Not something I'd have integrated into my system, let's put it that way....and no power to speak of, don't know that it's of any real use.

:ed:

4. Brian Cruz

Cool. I can just toss it, or donate it to Goodwill.

So why is it called an amp is it has no power?

5. Ed Bishop

Ed Bishop Incredibly, I'm still here

A good question....just as why anyone would buy anything with a Bose trademark doesn't make sense beyond the fact they advertise and market their crap so much they can snooker the gullible and uninformed.

Indeed, I saw a guy walk out of an audio shop Saturday afternoon with a pair of used Bose speakers....I held my tongue I figure, well, he'll either find out, or he won't care what they sound like, either way, what good would it do to wise him up? Besides, the guy selling them probably needs the money, a small merchant...although I know hardware dealers who not only won't sell Bose, if you ask they'll tell you why....:D That's my kind of dealer...out to make a profit, but carries only equipment he could live with in certain price ranges.

:ed:

6. -=Rudy=-

-=Rudy=- ♪♫♪♫♫♪♪♫♪♪ Staff