Why I spend more time listening to vintage radios than hi-fi sistem

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Meehael, Jan 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meehael

Meehael Forum Resident Thread Starter

I am a music teacher, conductor and opera singer, and I consider myself as very critical listener.
    Few years ago I bought transistor radio Grunding Ocean boy 210, mostly for the looks of it. I was immediately impressed by the sound and so were my friends. Then I decided to get more similar radios (2-way mono speaker, din input), to start collecting them, and to search for best sounding one.
    Amongst others I got Grundig Satellite 2000. That radio sounds like band in the box! Instruments are well separated, bass dry and not boomy, have to eq it a bit to get it right but...You can listen to it on low volume and still hear everything. On loud volumes it gets even more interesting - sound becomes bigger than it should, vocals get more presence and most interesting...It makes you dance! As it can run on batteries for days I bring these radios to picnics and smaller parties and it strangely always makes people dance. You crank it up loud and you can still talk to each other.
    I don't get all that from my stereo setup.

So, now I ask you, can these characteristics be considered audiophile? If so, I think maybe hifi went wrong way in bringing reality and not much musicality.

2. SKATTERBRANE

SKATTERBRANE Forum Resident

Well, from my experience FM radio with a high end tuner on the best stereo system does not sound good enough for me. Any record, CD, streaming service etc, will sound significantly better. So, I cannot imagine a portable radio would make FM radio sound even better. I am not buying your premise. The better my stereo system gets, the more musical it becomes.

Tim 2, 2trackmind, AndyCC72 and 4 others like this.
  3. Meehael

Sorry, forgot to mention I run chromecast audio or any other source thru din input.