Why the heck are the DS9 DVD sets so bloody expensive?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by dkmonroe, May 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot Thread Starter

I mean, who wants them but me? Or is that the problem?

And, does anyone want to hazard a guess as to when, or IF, the original Star Trek series will ever be sold as a box set, so I don't have to shell out $18 for two episodes out of sequence, which is the case with the current DVD's?

2. dcooper

dcooper New Member

Here is information on the European release of the TOS box sets. I've heard that the Region 1 releases will more or less coincide with Europe, though I can't find any documentation of that on the Web.

3. dkmonroe

Wow! Great info! Thanks!

4. Ed Bishop

Ed Bishop Incredibly, I'm still here

Let's face it, all these box sets are a tad overpriced....which is why it's a good idea to wait a bit and find them used and in nice shape for a lot less. WHY these sets have such a high list, though, is a mystery, that just slows down sales, IMO. They're nicely packaged and presented--as are the B5 boxes--but yikes! The prices for BUFFY and ANGEL--not to mention most vintage series--are far more reasonable. Not all, though, as we know....

:ed:

5. dkmonroe

That's my point exactly. Stuff that's obviously gonna burn up the shelves, like Buffy and Angel, and as of today, the Gilmour Girls, is easy to find at a good sale price, especially when it's first released. You'd think that those would be the boxes that cost an arm and a leg, but instead it's stuff like DS9, which has a niche audience even among Star Trek fans. And the ironic thing is, I really only care about the last 4 seasons of DS9, but the idea of shelling out $300-$400 for it just seems wasteful. I can't believe ANYBODY pays full price for these monsters, and they don't really go on sale, either.