Your opinion, tape mastering of digital music

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by FLY Wright, Dec 5, 2020.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FLY Wright

FLY Wright Active Member Thread Starter

Hi,

I've been recording music on an ancient Apple G5, a Presonus DAC amp, and Cubase software. I'm happy with the playback of mixes I've made, but when my computer does a mixdown the results can sometimes be disheartening. In recent years a friend of mine gave me a Teac 3340S in great condition. I've considered recording the computer playback into the Teac 15ips and later recording that tape playback into the computer. I'm hoping Teac would better capture my mix and possibly add an aesthetic enhancement. I'm a complete novice, but I know there's studios out there that offer tape and analogue treatments for digital content. I'm curious to hear from anyone who may have experience with this sort of thing. One question off the top of my head is, when I run the playback from the computer into the Teac, should I do so at a lower level and boost it within the tape machine, or should I run it in moderate to strong? I also heard that in analogue there's more forgiveness when the vu meters clip in the red; obviously I don't want to amplify it until it becomes undynamic--so what should I look for? I've ordered some 1/4 inch tape and will be experimenting, but I'm curious what y'all have to say and if you could give me some pointers so I don't start out too stupid.

2. fretter

fretter Forum Resident

What version of the Mac OS are you running on that G5, if you don't mind me asking?

3. FLY Wright

10.4 which is ancient. I plan on getting a new computer and software next year, but at the moment I'm in too deep with a project that I'm eager to mix and dress it up to get it out early next year. I love recording and arranging, but this side of the equation I've never gotten into and I hope I can give it a go.

fretter likes this.
  4. fretter